Data Science is Scary

Shubhi Ahuja
2 min readMay 19, 2020
Couldn’t decide on a pic. Really got into printing.

Data science is the sexiest job of the 21st century. This is how most posts about why should get into data science begin. This thought has for sure ensured that many engineers, people in technical roles, and many other folks, pivot to it. Most are driven by money, few by passion.

I like the field, because it makes you think, a lot. It also gives you exposure to a variety of fields, which is amazing.

I also find data science scary, here’s why:

  1. What is data science exactly ?

There are numerous interpretations, but no clear consensus. Some say it is using data to solve problems. Some say using data and algorithms to extract meaning from data, make predictions etc.

The bigger issue comes with where AI, Machine Learning, Deep Learning etc. fit in, in this whole realm.

2. What all do I need to know?

There are so, so many tools, algorithms that one should be expert at, to be a data scientist. The tools are only going to evolve, get replaced by a newer, better tool etc. So, you need to keep learning, unlearning, and learning a lot more.

Basis what one sees online, you should know the mathematics and stats behind the algorithms, and the formulae should be known to you, like the chorus of your favourite song.

3. Will I ever know enough?

This fear has plagued me from inception. I know bits about things, but it gets lost over time. And I always feel that I don’t know, remember, so many things.

There will always be things to learn, and it is alright. It’s good to see the progress made by others. It is inspiring. But that should not make you feel small, and dissuade you from taking your (however tiny) step. The aim is to improve myself. A baby step forward is better than being stationary.

So, time for a change. We shall assuage this worry, starting now. I shall post one article, every week, regarding some random thing I learnt/read about.

Had hoped for the whole bit to be structured, but that has prevented for it to begin. So, better this, than nothing. Here, we go.

--

--